In the 2013/2014 Elite Series Competition Australian Melissa Gorman retained her title as the winner of the Womens Competition for the third year in a row, with another talented Australian Rhys Mainstone taking out the Mens Competition.

This summer New Zealand and Australia’s fastest open water swimming superstars will once again be winging their way across the ditch and around the country for the 2014/2015 New Zealand Ocean Swim Series. Thanks to travel partner Jetstar, eight of New Zealand’s and six of Australia’s top open water swimmers will be helped to fly where they need to go as they battle it out in the six Series events.

Individual Event Points

Elite Swimmers are awarded valuable points at each of the individual events that will contribute towards their Elite Series Competition points total (see further down this page for an explanation of the points system).

Prize Money

A combined prize pool of NZ$32,000 will be awarded as follows in 2014-2015:

Individual Event Prize Money

  • 1st Place – NZ$500
  • 2nd Place – NZ$300
  • 3rd Place – NZ$200

Medals will be awarded to the first, second and third Male and Female placegetters at each of the six individual events.

Overall Series Competition Prize Money

  • 1st Place – NZ$5000
  • 2nd Place – NZ$3000
  • 3rd Place – NZ$2000

The prize money listed above will be awarded in both Male and Female categories.

Entry Qualifications and Process

  • Swimmers that would expect to place in the Top 15 ‘overall’ in their chosen event should consider entering the Elite Division
  • To enter into the Elite Series Competition you must register for the event/s as an “Elite Swimmer” entry type. Your acceptance into the Elite Series Competition is based on a pre-approved process at the sole discretion of the Event Director
  • To qualify for the Overall Series Competition Prize Money you must enter and complete three or more ‘I’m Going Long’ swims from a possible six events
  • Race 6 (King of the Bays) is a double points race. To win or place in the Series you must swim in this event
  • Events can be entered individually or as part of a Multi Event Series Pass
  • Discounted or free entries will be considered for any swimmers that have:
    1/ Ranked in the top 3 (in the Elite Division) in a New Zealand Ocean Swim Series event in the last 3 seasons
    2/ Ranked in the top 5 in the 400m, 800m, 1500m, 5km or 10km freestyle events in your country’s National Open Championships in either 2013 or 2014
    3/ Placed in the top 5 in an open water swimming event featuring a world class Elite field (at the discretion of the Event Director) in either 2013 or 2014
  • Entries can be transferred from one event to another, up to one week prior to each event and only within the season

Conditions of Entry

  • All elite division entries are confidential and not accessible to other competitors
  • Elite simmers will swim with the first wave of the ‘I’m Going Long’ swimming field
  • The elite wave will be filmed and/or monitored at each event by elite marshals. Any un-sportsmanlike behaviour or cheating will result in instant disqualification. All race rules are listed here
  • Entry confirmation constitutes a swimmer’s acceptance of the race rules covering the Elite Series Competition, and all swimmers agree to abide by the Event Director’s decisions
  • Competitors entered in the Elite Division won’t be eligible for age group medals or the age group competition
  • Participation in the Elite Series Competition at any event in the New Zealand Ocean Swim Series is at the discretion of the Event Director who reserves the right to reject or withdraw any swimmer
  • Only elites who have registered and swum in a minimum of three (from six) ‘I’m Going Long’ events in the Elite Division will qualify for the Series purse

Points Tally Formula

  • First Placed Male and Female in the Elite Division at each individual event will receive 100 points (with the exception of the final event of the series – King of the Bays where the First Placed Male and Female will receive 200 points, as this event is worth double points).
  • 2nd place, 3rd place and all following elite swimmers will be awarded points as a percentage of the winner’s times
  • At the King of the Bays event points are doubled, meaning the points an elite swimmer would have received at another 2014-15 New Zealand Ocean Swim Series event will on this occasion be doubled.
  • Each elite’s BEST THREE INDIVIDUAL POINTS will be totaled at the end of the Series to determine the overall Series placegetters
  • In the case of two or more elites having equal maximum points at the end of the Series, the winner will be decided as follows:
    – the winner will be determined by measuring the time difference between the winner and 2nd place across their top three events.
    -in the unlikely event that the margin between the tied winners and 2nd place in each of their top three events is exactly the same, the same margin between the winners and 3rd place will be measured in each of their top three events and the elite with the biggest total margin will be the winner
    -Note as the King of the Bays event is worth double points for elites, any margins in time for this event, that are measured in the case of a possible tie, will also be doubled
  • For the avoidance of doubt times will be measured to the tenths of a second
  • The more swims you enter and complete, the more chances you have of accumulating higher points
  • Series champions will be announced at the Series Prize Giving after the King of the Bays event in Takapuna, North Shore, Auckland on Saturday 18th April 2015